ALBUM PREVIEW: Kid Cudi’s “Man on the Moon”

13 Sep

Man on the MoonFor some time now, there has been a buzz surrounding Kid Cudi. He was, perhaps, best known as Kanye West’s protege. For years, Cudi was a member of West’s GOOD Music label.

Despite being on Kanye’s label, he was never given a proper album release date. Because of that, Kid Cudi took matters into his own hands, flooding the mixtape scene.

While working on his mixtape, A Kid Named Cudi, a track called “Day ‘n’ Nite” leaked. The track leaked in November 2007, but the mixtape was not released until February 2008. The song built steam over the next year until it was finally officially released to radio in 2009.

The song made Kid Cudi a household name and he gave hip hop the breath of fresh air that it terribly needed. His music was new and creative, much like that of his boss, Kanye West.

His debut release has much hype around it, many are expecting a great album from the Cleveland native.

Track Listing

1. In My Dreams (Cudder Anthem)

2. Soundtrack 2 My Life

3. Simple As…

4. Solo Dolo (Nightmare)

5. Heart Of A Lion (Kid Cudi Theme Music)

6. My World featuring Billy Cravens

7. Day ‘n’ Nite (Nightmare)

8. Sky Might Fall

9. Enter Galactic (Love Connection Part I)

10. Alive (Nightmare) featuring Ratatat

11. Cudi Zone

12. Make Her Say featuring Kanye West and Common

13. Pursuit of Happiness (Nightmare) featuring MGMT and Ratatat

14. Hyyerr featuring Chip tha Ripper

15. Up, Up & Away (The Wake and Bake Song)

Before the release of his album, Kid Cudi has already garnered two hit singles with “Day ‘n’ Nite” and “Make Her Say.” Both songs have a great, new, sound about them that will propel his album if the other tracks reflect this.

Even without an official album release, Kid Cudi has accomplished more than some rap veterans. His album, Man On The Moon: The End of the Day, is the typical backpacker album with crossover appeal.

It would not be too hard to imagine this album becoming the soundtrack of the fall and early winter. Kid Cudi’s debut album, Man On The Moon: The End of the Day, will be released on September 15, 2009 through GOOD Music and Universal Motown.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: