ALBUM PREVIEW: Fat Joe – “J.O.S.E. 2”

7 Sep

Fat Joe - J.O.S.E. 2Fat Joe is back again with his ninth studio album, J.O.S.E. 2, the follow-up to his highly-successful 2001 album, Jealous Ones Still Envy (J.O.S.E.). He is a 16 year veteran in the rap game and he still maintains a strong reputation and makes hits.

Fat Joe’s last album was a commercial and critical flop. The Elephant in the Room failed to garner the hit singles that most Fat Joe albums do. Many think that Joey Crack is too old for the rap game. Some say that he should have retired after “Lean Back,” Joe ignores the haters and continues to do his thing.

Late last year a song entitled, “Winding On Me,” featuring Ron Browz and Lil Wayne was leaked to the internet. The song had a relaxed feel and was moderately successful. Earlier this year, the first single, “One,” was released to radio. The track features Akon and is the traditional love song.

Track Listing

  1. “Winding On Me” featuring Lil Wayne and Ron Browz
  2. “Hey Joe”
  3. “One” featuring Akon
  4. “Put You in the Game” featuring T-Pain and OZ
  5. “Congratulations” featuring Rico Love & T.A.
  6. “Porn Star” featuring Lil’ Kim
  7. “Cupcakes” featuring Ben Soir
  8. “Me and my Bitch” featuring OZ
  9. “Here We Go” featuring Fabolous and Rico Love

10.  “Ice Cream” featuring Raekwon and T.A.

11.  “Okay Okay”

12.  “Music”

13.  “Aloha” featuring Pleasure P and Rico Love

The album seems like a cross between Fat Joe’s debut release, Represent, and his 2006’s release, Me, Myself, and I. The album features some of hip hop’s biggest names with Lil Wayne, Ron Browz, T-Pain, Akon, and Fabolous. He is also able to keep it street with acts such as Raekwon and Lil’ Kim.

Overall, the album does not seem to be anything more than average. Fat Joe is a smart, talented artist, but it is long overdue for him to change his style up a bit. He is not bringing anything new with this album. All that Fat Joe is doing is what has been done in the past. Joe has discovered the rap/R&B collaboration that has been done so many times and he has dedicated half of his album to it.

J.O.S.E. 2 is set to feature Rico Love three times, that is a bit too much for an artist that is not associated with you. He does manage to hold his own on the few solo tracks and he deserves credit for looking out for those un-established artists featured on his album, T.A., OZ, and Ben Soir.

Overall, his album is sounding like it will be a very good album, but it is the same album that he releases every year and it is not doing anything to change the landscape of hip hop. We will see how the album turns out when it is finally released.

Fat Joe is set to release J.O.S.E. 2 on October 6, 2009 on Terror Squad/Imperial/Virgin Records.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: